top of page
  • Writer's pictureBibi Altink

How you travel with the train from Amsterdam to Turkey

Updated: Aug 31, 2022

For a long time it was not possible to travel to Istanbul, but when I decided to book a number of train tickets, the travel agent emailed me that the route could be done completely by train again, so that was nice!


I booked my trip with The Train Traveler. They have all the foreknowledge and it takes a long time if you have to find it out all by yourself. Especially with this train trip to Turkey because you cannot buy all tickets online. You can also tell them how you want to do your journey, where to stop and so on and they'll give you a personalized train schedule! It is true that booking a train journey is not as easy as booking a flight. That's a shame, of course, but then again, if you're just spending some time with a travel agency like The Train Traveler, it's actually not that hard. There are also entrepreneurs who build platforms to make booking a train journey or comparing train tickets easier, such as Locomocheap.


People often think that traveling by train


is more expensive than traveling by plane, but that is not true. For example, the Consumers' Association found that 8 out of 10 researched journeys in Europe by train


are cheaper than by plane. By the way, if you were to compensate your C02 and if you take into account that aviation is subsidized, the plane becomes even more expensive than the train. The only thing is that you don't pay for all these hidden costs. Our future generations are ;) During my train journey I stop in: - Vienna - Bucharest - Istanbul From Istanbul to Izmir you can take another train, so only the last part to Alaçati I have to travel by bus. The journey takes 67 hours. That is 22 times slower than by plane. But hey, it's also more adventurous! I've heard so many people comment on that. On September 5, I will leave from Amsterdam Central Station and return on September 18. After my trip I can tell you how the train journey went!



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page